Call Us Now on 01327 552136

Getting Started

Congratulations on purchasing your first training course with the Food Hygiene Company! Below are some of our most frequently asked questions about setting up training - we think you might find them useful to start you on your way.

Setting Up Your Organisation's Training

How do training credits work?

Each training credit you purchase allows one person to take a single training course. Training credits only get used up when the user actually starts the course.

To view how many credits you have available, click on Manage Your Training from the logged-in Home page. The total number of free credits for a particular course will be displayed next to the course drop-down box. The system will also show you how many users have yet to take the course and the total number of spare credits left once everybody has taken the course. You will notice that if you disable access to a course for a user, the number of spare credits will therefore increase by one.

Each course has a separate bank of credits, however, you may use the Move Credits button on the training page to switch credits between courses as necessary.

How do I set up a new user for a training course?

Once your training credits have been purchased, click on the Manage Your Organisation option, followed by the Add Users button.

The system will then display the Add Users page, which will allow you to create an account for new each person. Enter the first and last name for each person and ideally an email address too. Then, click on Add Users. You will be emailed a copy of the log-in details for each new account.

Your new users simply log in with the account you have just created and click on the course name under My Training to start their course.

If you have lots of users to add, you can also use the Bulk Add Users button, which is also found on the Manage Your Organisation screen. This will take you to a screen where you can paste a list of users (one per line) into a box. This is handy if, for example, you have an Excel spreadsheet of users. You can optionally specify a default password for each user.

Once the users are added, you may then want to use the Email Users button, which will allow you to send account details to the newly added users.

How do I give a user access to a course?

For people to access courses other than our Introduction course you will have to enable their access explicitly. To do this, go to the Manage Your Training screen, choose the course from the drop-down list and then click on the Enable Access box next to anyone who requires access, finishing with the Save button. If you prefer for all users to have access to the course automatically, select the Manage Your Training option, choose the course from the course drop-down list and set automatic allocation to Yes.

How does a user start the course?

To start the course, the user needs to simply log in with the account you have created for them and click on the course title, which will appear in the My Account box (with 'click to start' in red next to it).

My question isn't listed above. What should I do?

If you can't find the answer you were looking for here, please visit our full Help page.